| Country | Authority | Label language | Who files | WHO long-term condition | Documents certified by | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nigeria | NAFDAC (National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control) | English (TTB page on processed food; drug labelling rules) | The importing company, registered in Nigeria | 30 °C/75% RH (ICDRA 2008) | Nigerian Embassy or High Commission, per NAFDAC | 13 October 2026 |
| Ghana | Food and Drugs Authority (FDA) | Certificates in English; label language confirmed by your importer | The product owner or licence holder | 30 °C/75% RH (ICDRA 2008); the FDA names zone IVb | Not a party to the Apostille Convention; your importer confirms the route | 13 October 2026 |
| Côte d'Ivoire | Autorité ivoirienne de régulation pharmaceutique (AIRP), per press reports | Not found in our sources | Not found in our sources | [30 °C/65% RH], IFPMA estimate | Not a party to the Apostille Convention; your importer confirms the route | 13 October 2026 |
| Senegal | Authority not identified in our sources | Not found in our sources; French is the official language | Not found in our sources | [30 °C/65% RH], IFPMA estimate | Apostille available, with recorded objections; your importer confirms | 13 October 2026 |
The WHO list (March 2021) is written for medicines: a reference for supplements, not law. 30 °C/75% RH corresponds to zone IVb; square brackets mark an IFPMA estimate, not confirmed by the regulator.
What does a NAFDAC registration need from the supplement manufacturer?
NAFDAC's guideline for imported herbal remedies and dietary supplements (effective 1 June 2018; ask your importer whether it is still in force) lists these documents from the manufacturing side. Without NAFDAC registration, a supplement may not be imported, advertised or sold in Nigeria.
- Certificate of Manufacture and Free Sale from the health authority of the country of manufacture, authenticated by the Nigerian Embassy or High Commission.
- GMP certificate, also authenticated by the Nigerian mission.
- Power of attorney to the Nigerian applicant, stating who owns the brand name and valid for at least five years, or a contract manufacturing agreement, notarised in the country of manufacture.
- Comprehensive Certificate of Analysis on laboratory letterhead, with the brand name, batch number, manufacturing and expiry dates and the analyst's signature.
- Letter of invitation for a GMP inspection, giving the factory's address, not an office's.
- Evidence that the product is registered in the country of origin.
From us: a Certificate of Analysis and the product specification with every batch, and copies of the plant's certificates on request. The plant holds GMP for food supplements; your importer confirms whether NAFDAC accepts it. Where the country of sale asks for documents to be legalised, legalisation is arranged as well. A visit to the plant is possible.
Which language goes on a carton for Nigeria, and can a sticker be used?
English, according to a page on Nigerian import rules from the US Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB), written for processed food. It permits stick-on labels that meet NAFDAC requirements, provided they do not come off easily, wants a foreign label applied before export, and suggests writing the month in words, since Nigeria puts the day first. NAFDAC's guideline points to its Herbal Medicines and Related Products Regulations, which we have not read; your importer confirms the rules for a supplement.
We lay out and print the carton to the label rules of your market, which your importer confirms, and print the lidding foil with your brand. Artwork you already have can be used instead.
Does each blister strip need the batch number and expiry date?
Nigeria's Drug Labelling Regulations 2005, written for drugs, say so where a drug is packed in a container that meets them: each blister strip shows the brand name where applicable, the generic name, the strength, the batch number and the expiry date. Regulation 4(2) wants all information in English. Supplements are not named; we read the 2005 text only, and your importer confirms how NAFDAC applies it. On our blister products the batch number and expiry date are on the carton.
Who handles Ghana FDA registration, and what does it ask of the manufacturer?
The product owner or licence holder files with Ghana's Food and Drugs Authority; a licence holder's representative may apply only if it owns the product. This and the points below come from the FDA's supplement registration guideline, FDA/HMD/GL-FS/2012/01 of 1 March 2013; ask your importer whether it is still in force.
- Certificates in the file are in English, and samples come in the final packaging.
- The label follows a separate FDA labelling guideline we have not read; your importer confirms the label language.
- For a product made under contract, the file carries evidence of the contract, and the label and the package insert say so.
- Stability studies follow WHO zone IVb conditions in the container closure system in which the product will be marketed in Ghana: six months accelerated at 40 °C ± 2 °C and 75% RH ± 5%, long-term to the end of the shelf life.
A white label or private label product made for your brand is made under contract; agree the wording with your importer before you approve the artwork.
The stability study belongs to the registration file; if the pack changes after it, ask your importer what the FDA then expects.
Is West Africa a zone IVb market?
Not as a whole. Of the four countries here, WHO's list gives Nigeria and Ghana a long-term condition of 30 °C/75% RH, which corresponds to zone IVb; for Côte d'Ivoire and Senegal it has only an IFPMA estimate of 30 °C/65% RH, not confirmed by the regulator.
The Nigerian and Ghanaian entries were collected from national regulators at the 13th International Conference of Drug Regulatory Authorities (ICDRA) in September 2008. Ghana's FDA applies zone IVb to supplements; NAFDAC's supplement guideline names no zone.
In a blister each dose stays sealed in its own cavity until it is pressed out; how much moisture reaches it depends on the film (blister packing, hot and humid markets).
What applies in Côte d'Ivoire and Senegal?
Less is settled in our sources here, so your importer confirms the authority, the label and the documents.
Côte d'Ivoire. According to the Ivorian press, supplements are among the products overseen by the Autorité ivoirienne de régulation pharmaceutique (AIRP), which regulates pharmaceutical and other health products. It ran a declaration campaign for health products from October 2024 to December 2025. Whether an imported supplement needs an authorisation of its own is not stated in what we read.
Senegal. Authority not identified in our sources. Senegal has been a party to the Apostille Convention since 23 March 2023, so an apostille is available. An apostille works between two parties unless one has objected to the other's accession, and objections to Senegal's are recorded; your importer confirms the route.
What we supply and what your importer confirms
| Topic | From us | Your importer confirms |
|---|---|---|
| Registration | Documents for the file; we do not file or promise approval | The filing with the regulator in the country of sale |
| Blister and carton | Tablets, capsules and softgels sealed in blisters on an Uhlmann B 1240, one kind per blister, and cartoned on an IMA IC 150 | The label rules: language, stickers, date format, registration number, contract statement, package insert |
| Dates | Batch number and expiry date on the carton; standard shelf life 24 months | Any remaining shelf life rule at import, which some countries set for food |
| Documents | Certificate of Analysis and specification with every batch; copies of the plant's certificates with their numbers on request. Where the country of sale asks for documents to be legalised, legalisation is arranged as well. | Which documents the regulator wants, and how they are certified |
| Plant, sample, delivery | A visit to the plant is possible; a sample before you order; delivery worldwide, EXW by default, FCA or DAP on request | Whether the regulator expects an inspection or an audit |
What your product decides
Each line shows the cost in time or in risk.
| Your product or market | What changes | What it costs you |
|---|---|---|
| Selling in Ghana | Stability data under zone IVb conditions, in the pack the product will be sold in there | Time: six months of accelerated testing and long-term testing to the end of the shelf life |
| Advertising the product | NAFDAC approves advertising separately; in Côte d'Ivoire, advertising that makes health claims needs the prior authorisation of the Autorité ivoirienne de régulation pharmaceutique (AIRP) | Time: one more approval before a campaign |
Questions buyers ask about Nigeria, Ghana and West Africa
Must a supplement label for Nigeria be in English?
Yes, in the sources we read: a TTB page for processed food and Nigeria's drug labelling rules both ask for English. The TTB page permits stick-on labels that meet NAFDAC requirements, provided they do not come off easily. Your importer confirms the rule for supplements.
Which storage condition does WHO list for Nigeria and Ghana?
30 °C/75% RH, which corresponds to zone IVb, collected from national regulators at the ICDRA conference of 2008. The list is written for medicines; Ghana's FDA names zone IVb for supplements.
What stability data does Ghana's FDA ask for?
Data under WHO zone IVb conditions, in the container closure system in which the product will be marketed in Ghana, including six months of accelerated testing at 40 °C and 75% RH.
Does NAFDAC or Ghana's FDA inspect the plant?
Either may: NAFDAC asks for a letter inviting a GMP inspection, and Ghana's FDA may audit the site at its discretion, for a fee. A visit to the plant is possible. If your importer expects an inspection or an audit by the regulator, say so in your enquiry.
Will you register my supplement with NAFDAC or Ghana's FDA?
No. In Nigeria the importing company, registered there, files, and in Ghana the product owner or licence holder. We supply the batch documents and the carton, without promising an approval.
What does a distributor in Nigeria need from the supplement manufacturer?
For a NAFDAC file, among others: free sale and GMP certificates authenticated by the Nigerian mission, a notarised power of attorney or contract manufacturing agreement, a comprehensive Certificate of Analysis and an invitation to inspect the factory. Tell us which of these your importer has asked for.
Does a Ghana label have to say the product is made under contract?
Yes. The guideline asks for evidence of the contract and for the label and the package insert to state it; it does not say in what words. Agree the wording with your importer before you approve the artwork.
Which authority handles supplements in Côte d'Ivoire?
According to the Ivorian press, the Autorité ivoirienne de régulation pharmaceutique (AIRP), which oversees pharmaceutical and other health products. Whether an imported supplement needs its own authorisation, and who files, is not stated in what we read.
Read more
Blister packaging for hot and humid markets · Climatic zones by country · Shelf life and storage · Quality and batch documents · Blister packing · White label supplements · Private label supplements · Export documents · North Africa · East Africa · Africa
Ask about supplements for West Africa
Tell us the product, the countries you sell in, whether you own or distribute the brand, and what your importer has asked for. We answer within 24 hours, Monday to Friday.
A blister run starts from 2,000 cartons printed for your brand (at least 4,000 blisters), with a ready-made formula or your own, and production takes 6 to 10 weeks. Each carton holds 1 to 4 blisters, and the lidding foil is printed for your brand as well.
Request a quote → Email sales@hyperpharm.eu
Sources
- National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC): Guidelines for Registration of Imported Herbal Remedies/Dietary Supplements in Nigeria, R&R-GDL-007-00, effective date 1 June 2018 (review date printed on the cover: 31 May 2023). Parts used: 1.2, 3.1.2 to 3.1.9, 8.1, 10.1, 10.4 (separate approval of advertising), Appendix I. Copy on policyvault.africa: PDF. Checked 13 October 2026.
- Nigeria: Drug Labelling Regulations 2005, regulations 1, 4(2) and 13(b). Written for drugs and related products; supplements are not named. WIPO Lex. Checked 13 October 2026.
- US Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB): International affairs resources for Nigeria. Its labelling section is written for processed food, not for supplements; the page carries dates of 29 September 2010 and 15 April 2024. ttb.gov. Checked 13 October 2026.
- Food and Drugs Authority, Ghana: Guideline for Registration of Food/Nutritional/Dietary Supplements, FDA/HMD/GL-FS/2012/01, issued 1 March 2013. Parts used: 2 (applicant), 3.1, 3.2, 4(b). fdaghana.gov.gh. Checked 13 October 2026.
- World Health Organization: Stability conditions for WHO Member States by Region, update of March 2021, Appendix 1 to Annex 2 of WHO Technical Report Series No. 953. Written for medicines; gives conditions, not zone names. who.int. Checked 13 October 2026.
- World Health Organization: Technical Report Series No. 1010 (2018), Annex 10, note to Table A10.4 (the condition for each zone). extranet.who.int. Checked 9 October 2026.
- Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH): status table of the Apostille Convention, last update 30 June 2026. Nigeria, Ghana and Côte d'Ivoire are not listed; Senegal's accession is marked as one to which an objection was raised. hcch.net. Checked 13 October 2026.
- Koaci, 17 September 2026: the AIRP's declaration campaign for health products, supplements among them, October 2024 to December 2025. koaci.com. Read 13 October 2026.
- Fratmat, 16 September 2026: the same campaign, and the AIRP's prior authorisation of advertising that makes health claims. fratmat.info. Read 13 October 2026.
